June 17, 2015

The Portage Township Planning Commission June 17, 2015 meeting was called to order by acting chairperson Ted Soldan at 7:02 PM. Present were Ted, Dave Rulison, Melanie Kueber Watkins, John Ligon, Bernie Carr, and Peggy Anderson. Guests Bruce Peterson, Pat Coleman, John Hanner, and Derek Bradway were also present (see attached.)

The minutes from the previous meeting were deferred until the next meeting.

Bruce Peterson presented the WHPTR map to the planning commission. Pat Coleman said with this new map, we can now see clearly how extending the mixed use designation would affect the township.

Bernie made a motion to move the red B2 on the map that includes the district of Festival, CC Ford, and the mall to mixed use designation MIX. The motion was seconded by John Ligon and passed unanimously.

Ted made a motion to change the SW corner of the M26/Green Acres Rd intersection from residential to B3. The motion was seconded by Melanie. The motion failed with no aye votes.

John made a motion that the properties contiguous to Green Acres Rd shall be changed to R3. The triangular lot on the M26/Green Acres Rd shall be changed to MIX. All lots in the RR island in this area shall be changed to MIX. The motion was seconded by Soldan. A roll call vote was called for. The results of the voting were:

Peggy - Y John - Y Melanie - Y Dave - Y Bernie - N Ted - Y

The motion carried. Bernie wanted it to be known that he believes the entire RR island should be zoned MIX.

John Hammer thanked the commission for their work on this project.

Bernie made a motion to change the SW 1/4 NE 1/4 section 3 T54N R34W from RR to R3. The motion was seconded by Melanie and passed unanimously.

Bernie made a motion to move the zoning ordinance and map (as amended) forward for the public hearing. The motion was seconded by Melanie and passed unanimously.

The Public Hearing was scheduled for July 23 at 7:00, with the place to be determined.

A motion was made to adjourn at 8:41 pm by Peggy, seconded by Ted, and passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Ted Soldan, Secretary

TED SOLDAN Peggy Le dule John Ligoni Polluc John Hanner huide hegeln Derek Bradway